National Standards Authority of Ireland New Standards Shop

Buy Irish Standards Online

Skip to content

ISO 50001:2011 was published on 15th June 2011.  This standard replaces I.S. EN 16001:2009 which expires on 26th April 2012.  Applications for I.S. EN 16001:2009 will only be accepted if Certification is intended to be completed in 2011.

All I.S. EN 16001:2009 certified organisations will require an assessment to up-grade their certification to
ISO 50001:2011.  The up-grade can take place at a surveillance or re-assessment audit (depending on the next audit in the certification cycle). 

The up-grade assessment will not attract additional audit duration.  The up-grade assessment will focus on the “deltas” – the areas most affected by the change in standard.  Any findings from the up-grade audit will have to be addressed in a satisfactory manner (depending on the severity) before certification to ISO 50001:2011.

The ISO 50001:2011 standard does not contain any major changes from I.S. EN 16001:2009 and, in some clauses, the text is more or less identical. 

It is recommended that all organisations will have carried out an internal audit / gap assessment against the new requirements (and addressed any findings) prior to the NSAI’s on site up-grade audit.


Options for certification up-grades

Already registered to I.S. EN 16001:2009?

  • All surveillance and re-assessment audits due in 2012 will be conducted against the requirements of ISO 50001:2011.  It is planned that all Energy Management Certifications will be upgraded to ISO 50001:2011 by 31st December 2012.


Applying for ISO 50001:2011

  • Companies can apply at any time for certification to ISO 50001:2011 and schedule the Stage 1 and Stage 2 registration audits to suit your system’s readiness.


Will there be additional cost?

  • There is no additional cost for upgrade to ISO 50001:2011.


Our current certificate is valid beyond 26th April 2012 – does this mean that we still have to up-grade before 26th April 2012?

  • No.  Due to the short transition time for the introduction of ISO 50001:2011, all current certificates will remain valid until 31st December 2012.  Where a Certificate expires after 31st December 2012, the organization will be required to upgrade to ISO 50001:2011 by 31st December 2012.
  • All I.S. EN 16001:2009 certifications will be removed from NSAI’s published register after 31st December 2012.

Download NSAI Transition Policy for ISO 50001:2011 [pdf]

NSAI Certification 
For further details contact
NSAI Certification