Skip to content

Management System Certification

What is Management System Certification?

According to the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO), a Management System is the way in which an organisation manages the inter-related parts of its business in order to achieve its objectives. These objectives can relate to a number of different topics, including product or service quality, operational efficiency, environmental performance, health and safety in the workplace and many more.

The range of Management Systems include:

  • Quality Management Systems (ISO 9001)
  • Environmental Management Systems (ISO 14001)
  • Food Safety Management Systems (ISO 22000)
  • Medical Device Management Systems (ISO 13485)
  • Information Security Management (ISO 27001)

What are the benefits of Management System Certification?

Management System Certification can bring a host of benefits to your organisation including:

  • Improved efficiency in the use of resources
  • Improved financial performance
  • Improved risk management
  • Protection of people and the environment
  • Increased capability to deliver consistent and improved products / services
  • Increased value for customers and all other stakeholders

What impact will Brexit have on Management System Certification?

It is expected that certification to Management System standards such as ISO 9001 (Quality), ISO 14001 (Environment) or ISO 45001 (Occupational Health and Safety) shall not be directly affected by Brexit. 

Certification Bodies (CBs) are accredited by their National Accreditation Body to offer Management System services to industry. In Ireland, the National Accreditation Body is INAB.

UKAS is the UK's National Accreditation Body. Once the UK leaves the EU, UKAS will cease to be a National Accreditation Body under Regulation (EC) No. 765/2008. UKAS has indicated its intention to remain a member of European Accreditation, in which case, UKAS accredited certificates would continue to be recognised in areas not directly subject to EU legislation.

Learn More

Get in contact on